History of Karaveddy Divisional Secretariat

South west area of Vadamaradchy Division in Jaffna District is situated in the administrative area of the Divisional Secretariat division of Vadamaradchychy South West. This office is situated at a distance of 29 kilometers from Jaffna Town in Jaffna-Point pedro road. This area consisting of an extend of 63.7 square kilometers and 2.2 square kilometers of water reservoirs. It is divided into 35 Grama Niladhari divisions and contains 195 villages. Vadamaradchchy division had been existed as a seperate administration structure. Subsequent to delimitation and extraction of Uduppiddy electorate from the existed Point-pedro electorate in 1960, for organization of administrative set up with regard to Electorate wise Assistant Government Agents division of Karaveddy was formed. In accordance with the policy decision of the Government to take up the administration to rule area folks Assistant Government Agents division of Karaveddy was upgraded to Divisional Secretariat division.


Our Vision

An efficient and productive public service with new technology.

Our Mission

Ensure efficient and effective public service with good governance and sound

administrative system in the divisional and village level responsive to the

aspirations of the people and national priorities.

Our Divisional Secretary





Role performed at DS

Name From To
Mr.A.Iyadurai   1992
Mr.S.Srinivasan 1992 2002
Mr.S.Sathiyaseelan 2004 1996
Mr.R.Varatheeswaran 2012.01.04 2012.06.22
Mr.S.Sivasri 2012.07.23 2017.05.08
Mr.K.Shrimohanan 2017.05.08 2018.03.05
Mr.E.Thayarupan 2018.03.12  

News & Events

News & Events

Scroll To Top